The Continents of the World


Our earth is made up of large land masses known as continents and water bodies known as oceans. The earth has not been like this always as how we see it now. Millions of years before there were only one large land mass and a large ocean surrounding it. Later on the land mass started to split and drift apart surrounded by ocean on all sides. This process is still going on. Now we have 7 continents and 5 oceans which are home to all of us and millions of other living organisms.

There are seven large land masses on earth, namely

  1. Asia
  2. Africa
  3. Antarctica
  4. Australia
  5. Europe
  6. North America
  7. South America.

The 7 Continents of The World

  • Asia is the world’s largest continent. It covers one-third of earth’s surface.
  • It is also the most populated continent on earth, home to an estimated population of around 4.3 billion people.
  • The area is shared by 48 countries, by far the largest country by area is Russia.
  • The world’s highest peak Mount Everest is also located in Asia.
  • This continent is also home to the largest continuous sandy desert, the Arabian Desert, found in southern Saudi Arabia.
  • Asia is connected to Europe in the west. Together, Asia and Europe are called Eurasia.
  • It is bounded on the east by the Pacific Ocean, on the south by the Indian Ocean and on the north by the Arctic Ocean, and on the west by Europe.


  • Africa is the second largest continent in the world.
  • It is also the second largest continent in the world in terms of population.
  • Africa is commonly referred to as the black continent by many.
  • This large land mass comprises of 54 countries.
  • Africa lies in the centre of the earth with the equator passing through its centre.
  • Africa is also considered to be the birth place of mankind.
  • The Nile River is the longest river in the world and runs along the northeast side of the continent.

  • It is the third largest continent in the world by area and fourth largest continent by population.
  • North America is a continent which lies wholly in the northern hemisphere.
  • North America covers almost 4.8 percent of the earth’s surface and comprises around 16.5 percent of the whole land area on earth.
  • The population of about 565 million people are situated in about 23 independent countries.
  • Most of the land and area of the continent is dominated by Canada, United States of America, Greenland and Mexico.

  • South America is the fourth largest continent in terms of size and fifth in terms of population.
  • South America is home to twelve sovereign states and two non sovereign states.
  • It is generally considered to be a subcontinent of the Americas.
  • The world’s highest uninterrupted waterfall, angel falls is situated in Venezuela in South America.
  • The Amazon River, which is the largest river in the world in terms of volume, is also in this continent.
  • The Atacama Desert, which is the driest non polar place on earth, and the Amazon forest which is the largest rainforest on earth, is situated in this continent.
  • Brazil is the largest country in South America occupying more than half of the continents land area and population.

  • Antarctica is the fifth largest among the seven continents and the least populated continent on Earth.
  • It is known to be the driest, coldest, and also the windiest continent.
  • This is one of the most uninhabitable places on earth.
  • Antarctica is the least populated continent on earth. It is also home to very few plant and animal species.

  • Europe is the world’s second-smallest continent in terms of area.
  • This large land mass comprises of 47 countries and several other territories.
  • In terms of population, it is the third-largest continent.
  • Geographically Europe is a part of the larger landmass known as Eurasia.

  • The continent of Australia/Oceania is a single country continent.
  • It is the sixth largest country by total area, and is also the smallest of all the seven continents.
  • Because of its size, and isolated location, it is also called as island continent.
  • Australia is one of the least populated continents and is rich in biodiversity.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.